1999 Sugarloaf Barbecue race

Report by Douglas Barry

A comfortable fifth place on the Sugarloaf race ensured Noel Berkeley won the Leinster Mountain Running League by the slender margin of 1 point. Berkeley added the league title to his Irish 10,000 metre track title won last Saturday at the expense of his DSD club mate Gerry McGrath. McGrath won a confused Sugarloaf in a new record time of 28 mins 10 seconds. Confused in that it was disrupted by a wayward course marking tape - moved by persons unknown. The Sugarloaf race route has been a topic of controversy over a number of years and this race was no exception.

As the leading bunch of 20 odd runners approached a crucial junction near the corner of Kilmac's GAA pitch, they followed the main track instead of turning to the right. Behind them IMRA's treasurer Vivian O'Gorman spotted the mistake and headed up the correct route in the lead. When Noel Berkeley and Mark Doyle realised that the marker tapes had disappeared, they cut back and rejoined the main field and the correct route leaving the rest, led by Gerry McGrath and Francis Cosgrave, to pick a more direct route to the summit.

I was standing high on the hill, marshalling the course, when Noel passed me "We all got lost" "Well you're in the lead anyway" The large field streamed past me and I waited, wondering where Gerry McGrath and Francis Cosgrave had got to. The Sugarloaf had been the crunch race of the 13 race series. Gerry had done his 7 races and lay on 16 points with only a 3rd place to drop, but Noel and Paul Nolan - the Sugarloaf record holder - had only done 6 and had to get a good finish on this final race.

Paul, however, wound up marshalling as a foot injury forced him to miss the race. "It's being niggling me for weeks, and has now flared up in a big way. The Sugarloaf is no race to risk it on" Paul along with M40 League champion Doug Corrie agreed to help us out by stopping the cars on the dangerous part of the route which goes along public road.

To my surprise, the first runner to pass me on the descent was Gerry. He was followed by Francis, and in third Scottish runner Colin Eades. Then came Brendan O'Brien followed a good bit later by Noel. "They've taken a short cut" he shouted. "Stay in 5th and you'll win the League anyway " I yelled back. Noel was on 8 points and even if Gerry won, and dropped to 14 points, 5 and 8 make 13.

And so it stayed. A committee discussion afterwards decided, as the overall league positions had worked out - with the possible exception of Mark Doyle - that the results should stand despite the unorthodox routes. Joan Flanagan who also took the incorrect route won the women's race ahead of Laura McGinley and Mary O'Connell. Vivian won the M40 category with Ercus Stewart the winner of the M50 while Marian Hughes won the F40 category.

The traditional end to the 13 race series is a barbecue, and this year was no exception. The O'Gorman and Donlon families rallied around and spent the night with sizzling sausages and burgers spitting at them, as they attempted a reprise of the miracle of the loaves and fishes and fed the hungry runners. The weather was kind, and a great session was held outside and later inside the Glencormac Inn at the end of League prize-giving.

Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time
1	272	Ger McGrath	DSD		28.10
2	307	Francis X. Cosgrave	Blackrock AC		28.37
3	19	Colin Eades	Livingston		29.38
4	274	Brendan O'Brien	Ajax		30.30
5	169	Noel Berkeley	DSD		31.20
6	217	Mark Doyle	Eagle M.R.C.	M20	31.35
7	292	Peter O'Farrell			31.52
8	101	Simon Walters	AIB		31.54
9	228	Fergus Brien			32.28
10	105	Declan Doyle			32.41
11	327	Peter Dalton	DSD	M17	32.52
12	121	David Simpson	Rathfarnham	M19	34.03
13	132	Peter Owens	Dal Riada		34.10
14	237	Adrian Hayes	Bray Runners		34.36
15	278	Paul Mahon			35.24
16	267	Andrew Quin	DUO		35.40
17	58	Johnathan Corrie	Fingal	MJ	36.04
18	216	Aidan Fitzpatrick			36.22
19	116	Joan Flanagan	Ajax	F	36.30
20	161	Vivian O'Gorman		M40	36.37
21	52	Alejandro Castera	Kilcoole		36.41
22	106	Philip Brennan	Setanta O.C		36.44
23	119	Justin Keatinge	Ajax		37.02
24	244	Dave Weston	Setanta		37.04
25	263	Peter McNamara	DUO		37.12
26	136	Colin Burns	Ajax		37.19
27	145	Brendan O'Connor	Ajax		37.35
28	148	Henny Brandsma	Sportsworld	M40	37.39
29	187	Vincent Blake	AIB		37.50
30	385	James O'Reilly	Dal Riada		37.57
31	289	Mark Gomm	Portmarnock		38.02
32	271	Laura McGinley	Raheny	F	38.04

Sugarloaf (BBQ) Race 13 of 13 in Leinster League 28/07/99

33	120	Brian Bell	Bray Head Ridge Runners	M40	38.13
34	245	Paul Cullen			38.24
35	313	Mary O'Connell		F	38.31
36	27	Ian O'Donnell			38.38
37	345	Brendan Murphy	Glenasmole	M15	38.48
38	186	Ercus Stewart	Glenasmole	M50	38.54
39	28	Edward Holt			39.01
40	220	Pat Fitzpatrick	AIB		39.27
41	323	Mick Mangan	Setanta		39.33
42	15	Barry Cahill			39.43
43	55	Tom Prendergast			39.45
44	364	Seamus Murphy		M40	40.14
45	204	Billy Alexander	AIB		40.29
46	233	Nigel Creighton			40.45
47	192	Brian Byrne		M50	40.50
48	207	Gearóid Ó'Cathaláin	NTMA	M40	40.52
49	179	Padraic Hamrock	AIB		40.52
50	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		40.54
51	194	Dermot O'Callaghan	AIB		40.57
52	279	Kevin Murray		M40	40.60
53	273	Eileen Walsh	Donore Harriers	F	41.22
54	53	Paddy O'Brien	Ajax	MV	41.39
55	242	Sean R Murphy	Setanta		41.58
56	50	Karl Saunders			42.08
57	103	Gordon Douglas		M40	42.12
58	256	Brendan Lawlor	Office City		42.22
59	140	Conor Kenny	sportsworld	M40	42.32
60	291	Tony O'Neill	FAS		42.50
61	243	Eddie McGovern	Canada Life		43.29
62	149	Eva Mulleady	Crusaders	F	43.38
63	114	Paddy Lord		M50	44.06
64	141	Peter Gargan	Ajax	M40	44.14
65	219	Gavan Doherty	GEN		44.42
66	123	Joe McDonagh	AIB		44.59
67	339	Peter Cannon			45.42
68	49	Christy Hehir	Sportsworld	M40	45.51
69	203	Marian Hughes	DSD	F40	45.60

70	189	Niamh Fitzpatrick	AIB	F	46.18
71	201	Declan Lee	Blackrock AC	M15	46.27
72	165	Cormac Corrigan	Glenasmole		46.60
73	321	Melissa O'Halloran		F	47.12
74	297	Frank Murphy	Glenasmole	M40	47.17
75	382	Hank Fogarty	SIAC Construction	M50	47.26
76	324	Jimmy O'Brien	Ajax	M50	47.44
77	172	Alexis Fitzgerald			47.55
78	351	Derek Livingston			48.08
79	238	Alan Guinane	AIB		48.31
80	57	Suzanne McKenna	Raheny Shamrock	F	48.41
81	318	Peter Gorman	AIB		48.49
82	338	Dave Ryan			49.09
83	280	Caitlin Bent	Setanta	F50	49.31
84	281	Melanie Walsh		F	50.06
85	143	James Higgins	AIB		51.60
86	196	Sean Lambe		M60	52.43
87	332	Kieran Hennessey			53.09
88	193	Julie Hilliard		F40	53.12
89	54	Ken Gaye	Ajax	MJ	53.13
90	112	Richard Haskins	Bank Of Ireland	M40	53.29
91	396	Cathy Batch	Crusaders	F	53.55
92	51	Stephen Treacy			54.19
93	331	Carol Lynch	Sportsworld	FSV	55.02
94	56	Sandra Coleborn	Aer Lingus	F	55.19
95	59	Orla Gormley	Raheny Shamrock	F	55.20
96	177	Ger Power	3ROC	F40	56.13
97	48	Bernadette Kenny		F	56.15
98	178	Beccy Cameron	DSD	F	57.44
99	312	Felicia Long	AIB	F	61.11
100	4	Deirdre Murphy	UCDO	F	62.39
101	358	Mike Gomm	Portmarnock	M60	77.04
102	180	Anne Davitt	Bank of Ire.	F	78.00
106	151	Claude McManmon		M40	100.00
106	354	Suzanne Kennedy		F	100.00
106	60	Louise Iuie		F	100.00
106	255	Willie O'Gorman	Portmarnock	M50	100.00

Short Course

1	343	Siobhan Murphy	F14	21.40
2	246	Siobhan McDonnell Byrne	F15	23.23

Entries: Pat Donlon, Vivian O'Gorman, Justin Keatinge